And so it begins…week One


Happy new year everyone.  I really hope 2011 is going to be fabulous year for us all!

My 2011 started on 27th December as I began my marathon training.  Monday 27 December was the start of Week One of 16 weeks training that leads me to the Virgin London Marathon on 17th April.

So I begrudgingly climbed onto the treadmill and kicked off with a 4 miler (followed up with a kinect sports session which was fab fun!), following during the week with a 4M Slow, 5M slow, 3M Steady and 5M as part of my Gym strength training on New Year’s Eve.  (I was so disappointed when the auto prog kicked in at the Gym to complete my 5M with the warm down as I was targeting a specific time – gutted!) 

New Years’s Day I gave myself a day off….just as well after a very late evening with friends (and a fantastic breakfast chez Hings!)

And so to Sunday…my first long run of the New Year.  I targeted a slow 10 M and planned it all on mapmyrun- feeling very pleased with myself.  My fabulous Christmas present from my wonderful hubby coming into it’s own.  My GPS watch showed me that my planned router was going to be a couple of miles longer than I thought so I could modify it while out – cool!

So the totals for week one : 32.13 miles, just under 6 hours of training and 3500 calories!  Target for week two 35 miles.    I am wondering if the 10 miles I walk the dog each week can be included or is that cheating?

Now I also get to look at all my watch data…… Heart Rate junkie…..

 I’m running in aid of Kidney Research UK for the London Marathon on 17th April 2010 and need help to raise as much as can.  Please if you can donate or sponsor me I’d love to hear from you: http://www.kidneyresearchukevents.org/DawnRoberts

  
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

