Running in circles


 
my gps track
my gps track – running in circles literally

Weeks 10 and 11 are now out of the way and the worrying thought that I have less than 32 days to go is happily dancing around at the back of my brain!  Sometimes it’s formed a little Congo and having a party an other times it’s a voodoo dance!

Week 10 got me into March and was the run up to the Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. 

 

Curiously I was excited and calm about this one.  I must becoming an old hand at this!  All preparations were in place.  While I was excitedly nervous on the drive over it was the good kind, not the gut wrenching terror I’d had for the Stamford event which to date has been the hardest thing I’ve done!

Saturday I made sure that although eating with friends I still had lots of pasta and bread, not too much wine and definitely chocolate melting pudding to build up the carb stores for Sunday.  I also got all my kit sorted, bib filled in and pinned to my vest, Tag attached to my trainer, weather checked, appropriate spare clothes, spare pins, tape, etc all packed. 

Sunday morning I was up early getting my porridge in but still all calm in RgR Towers!

 

Rallied my entourage and chauffeur to get us out to the door, as we had a two hour journey and was worried about parking and walking to the circuit (a good half hour from the car parks). 

 On arrival quite a queue coming in, but no problems getting parked and sorted.  The Race circuit itself is undergoing a major refit in preparation for the British F1 Grand Prix later this year, so lots of building works and no indoor facilities open (as they’re being re-housed); but the pit garages were all opened up for bag storage, Adidas marathon shop and lots of mobile coffee and food stalls available.   One great thing about the circuit is that there a tons of toilet blocks everywhere from each of the car parks and also around the circuit (both for spectators) and also along the track for the run.  So for the first time ever for me at a run……….no queues!

 

 It was cloudy, breezy and cold when we arrived and everyone was very well wrapped up waiting for start.  30 mins to go, I stripped down to running kit (which for me was still very much wrapped up compared to many hardened runners) and after palming off my kit bag to my entourage I headed down the sub-2 hour route down Maggotts towards Copse for the start.  Unfortunately the “celeb” runner Katie Price was late so start was delayed by ten minutes while we all hopped around keeping warm.  And then off we went!

My pace was good and I was trying to follow the Runners World pacing group board for 8min/miles (1:45) for as far as I could.  While the route could definitely not be described as scenic (we were running what was once an old air field after all) it was challenging in the group running quite tightly around the course.  At one point I did have to duck as the 6ft(and then some) gentleman running past me was swinging arms at my head height!  Quite a skill planning your route/gaps and ensuring you don’t get taken out, or take anyone else out with you!

 

I managed to get 10 miles under my belt before needing a drink.  I had very little concept of where I was, at which point in the course with no real landmarks and found the parts where the leading runners are running down the course opposite you disheartening.  Finally then the last three miles which I absolutely found the hardest as I Could see club and thought finish was coming up, but  then go around the bend and can see Stowe still bit more to go.  Finally up Hanger Straight into Becketts and I could see the finish at last.  But when to push the final sprint at two miles, one mile?  When I could see the clock ticking and I realised I could try to get under 1:50 I put some serious effort in to power myself over the line.

The last quarter mile putting the power down for a strong finish

I finished 1:49:16  18th in my category – result!

Got my medal

 While my tag was being clipped off, the lady asked was I pleased with my race.  Bless her, through little sobs (of joy at my time) I mumbled yes then stumbled off to get my medal and (oh dear..XXL) t-shirt. 

 

 unfortunately Mr RGR was finding it difficult to spot little me and had to settle with taking photos of Katie Price instead.   Bit easier to spot someone running with their bodyguards.  Think I need to take up some tactics!

I am running to raise money for Kidney Research UK (KRUK).

If you can help support the research into these diseases which affect so so many people of all ages, please help me. http://www.kidneyresearchukevents.org/DawnRoberts

and for those who haven’t got tickets yet, please join us for the PTSC Superheros Charity Disco http://www.facebook.com/?sk=lf#!/event.php?eid=187623911270926

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running in circles

  1. Angla Faw says:

    I simply want to say I am very new to blogging and site-building and really loved your website. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You really come with fantastic article content. Kudos for sharing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

