..more madness…. staying fit to donate a kidney…..


My journey is full of so many twists, turns, up and downs.  My path is never straight, flat, easy or boring!  Even if I swore blind that I wanted it to be; I am my own worst enemy as I put more challenges ahead to aim for.

I am middle aged!

I am getting older and slower!

and YES and I am losing my sanity!

I have been talking about doing the Rat Race Dirty Weekend at Burghley for three years!  Tuxman would not allow me to enter on my own.  I am not entirely clear if that is fear for my safety of for that of others (probably both!)

This time, equally unhinged (I hope) friends have come up trumps to take part with me.  

For that, their madness bravery and commitment I give you “Team Insane”:  “Screw loose” Steve, “Idiotic” Ian,  “Beserk” Belle, “cracked”  Tim, “Erratic” Emma, “Lunatic” Lee and me “Deranged” Dawn.    

For the uninitiated: this delightful event will see us tackle 20 miles around the Burghley estate, split into muliple obstacle zones with over 200 obstacles.  There will be water (loads, there’s a huge lake to get across), mud (glorious mud), the worlds longest monkey bars (my shoulder sockets ache just writing that down), and much more.  Some of my wonderful pals have already achieved this – you know who you are and so you know – I admire that and am desperate to tick this one off my list too!

To appease my lovely Tuxman, I will be training towards this!  I can run distance, but probably couldn’t hold my bodyweight past 2 handswaps on the monkey bars!

As usual I really want everyone to know why I do these mad things! 

Aside from hoping for beautiful glowing skin post mudbath and working to maintain my fitness so I am ready to donate a kidney to Tuxman in the coming months; I really want everyone to be aware of the dangers of Kidney Disease.  It is a silent killer!  

This awful disease affects so many many people, a huge many who are completely unaware.  Often someone you know who has had a heart attack or a stroke or suddenly collapsed with lost kidney function, has probably been living with a Kidney problem far far longer than they were aware.

Interactive kidney disease health check  (Source : http://www.kidneyresearchuk.org)

Around 3 million people in the UK are under threat of chronic kidney disease, many of these people are not aware they have the condition. This is because there are little or no symptoms until the disease is quite advanced and can often come as a shock to those who are first diagnosed. Kidney disease affects anyone at any age although certain factors may mean you are a greater risk of developing the illness.
Use KIdney Research UK ‘s health check to see if you’re at higher risk of developing kidney disease and should have your kidney function checked.

https://www.kidneyresearchuk.org/health-information/kidney-health-check

All information given in the interactive health check is not stored by Kidney Research UK or any third party.

These days for those that have it and need dialysis or transplant, most will have to turn to friends, relatives and strangers for the possibility of a live kidney donation.  So many people are waiting and there are not enough people who have expressed wishes to donate organs before they die.  

If you have ever considered donating organs after you die, please consider signing up  http://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/

You can of course consider a “live” donation of a kidney http://www.organdonation.nhs.uk/how_to_become_a_donor/living_donation/living_kidney_donation/

On my journey towards May 2016,  I will be tackling other events to help me get there, including:  mini mud races, longer running races and other things… hopefully more entertaining blogs (or at least ridiculous photos humilitaing myself to share!)  

Thank you for reading.

If you’d like to help support the research into Kidney Disease, you can donate here: https://www.justgiving.com/Dawn-Roberts7

More of this!

More of this!

  

Unfortunately less of this!

Unfortunately less of this!

   

 

This entry was posted in Chronic Kidney Disease, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

